What is Amazon ranking?

The product catalog is used as the basis for an optimal Amazon ranking. The Amazon catalog consists of over 30,000 different categories, from which the right one must be selected. Each main category has additional sub-categories in which the product can also be positioned or assigned. Products can, therefore, have several rankings.

Amazon has an algorithm that evaluates products according to specific criteria. These criteria consist of various components and influence the ranking.

Amazon optimization can improve Amazon’s ranking and thus optimize the performance and relevance of a product. As a rule, Amazon always evaluates according to the following rule of thumb: keyword relevance = how appropriate the entered search phrase fits a specific product.

The most important Amazon ranking factors

The most important factors are limited to the visible area of a buyer, these consist of:

  • Title
  • Bullet points
  • Product description

 

The title provides space for approximately 120-150 characters (maximum 200 characters) to develop a product title. It should be short, incisive, sales-boosting and should contain the most important Amazon keywords. The bullet points offer 5 list points/bullet points with approximately 200 characters each, for the appropriate product attributes. A maximum of 2,000 characters (for “normal” sellers) can be used in the product description. Here you can learn more about the product and its special specifications.

The special characteristic of an Amazon optimization

An Amazon optimization essentially focuses on relevance and performance. The relevance is reflected in the keywords in the title, in the general keywords, in the bullet points and in the product description. Performance, on the other hand, can be measured by the sales rank (bestseller rank), the rate of order defects, the cancellation rate of orders and the rate of delayed deliveries. Negative evaluations of returns, policy violations and contact response time also play an important role. Additionally, it is possible to increase the conversion significantly with an Amazon optimization.

Conversion is significantly influenced by three factors:

  • Retail price
  • Reviews
  • Product pictures

 

The selling price should always meet the expectations of the potential buyer. Please consider that a too low as well as too high price can be an obstacle to sales. Special attention has been paid to product reviews, the more positive the better it is for you. Usually products with 4 to 5 stars convert better. The external appearance of the product is important as well (how well-selected the product images are), the more stimulating they are, the better it is. Good product images can be a significant reason for a purchase as well as product reviews.

Amazon Ranking

Was versteht man unter Amazon Ranking?

Als Grundlage für ein optimales Amazon Ranking dient der Produktkatalog. Der Amazon-Katalog besteht aus über 30.000 unterschiedlichen Kategorien, aus denen es die richtige auszuwählen gilt. Jede Hauptkategorie besitzt zusätzlich weitere Unterkategorien in denen das Produkt auch positioniert bzw. zugewiesen werden kann. Produkte können daher mehrere Rankings besitzen.

amazon-ranking-platzierung

Amazon nutzt einen Algorithmus, der Produkte auf bestimmte Kriterien bewertet. Diese Kriterien bestehen aus verschiedenen Komponenten und beeinflussen das Ranking.
Durch eine Amazon Optimierung kann das Amazon Ranking verbessert und somit die Performance und die Relevanz eines Produktes optimiert werden. Amazon bewertet in der Regel immer nach folgender Faustformel: Keyword-Relevanz = Wie gut passt die eingegebene Suchphrase zu einem bestimmten Produkt.

Die wichtigsten Amazon Ranking Faktoren

Die wichtigsten Faktoren beschränken sich auf den sichtbaren Bereich eines Käufers, diese bestehen aus:

  • Titel
  • Bulletpoints
  • Produktbeschreibung

Der Titel bietet circa 120-150 Zeichen (maximal 200 Zeichen) Platz, um einen Produkttitel zu entwickeln. Dieser sollte kurz, prägnant, verkaufsfördernd und mit den wichtigsten Amazon-Keywords versehen sein. Die Bulletpoints bieten 5 Listenpunkte / Bulletpoints mit je circa 200 Zeichen, für entsprechende Eigenschaften des Produktes. In der Produktbeschreibung können maximal 2.000 Zeichen (für „normale“ Seller) verwendet werden. Hier kann auf das Produkt und dessen besonderen Spezifikationen näher eingegangen werden.

amazon-ranking-titel

Die Besonderheit einer Amazon Optimierung

Eine Amazon Optimierung konzentriert sich im wesentlichen auf die Relevanz und die Performance. Die Relevanz spiegelt sich in den Keywords im Produkttitel, in den allgemeinen Schlüsselwörtern, in den Bulletpoints und in der Produktbeschreibung wieder. Die Performance hingegen lässt sich durch den Verkaufsrang (Bestsellerrang), der Rate an Bestellmängeln, Stornorate der Bestellungen und Rate verspäteter Lieferungen. Eine wichtige Rolle hierbei spielen auch die negativen Bewertungen von Rücksendungen, Verstöße gegen Richtlinien und Kontaktreaktionszeit. Zusätzlich ist es möglich mit einer Amazon Optimierung die Conversion deutlich zu steigern.

Die Conversion wird maßgeblich durch drei Faktoren beeinflusst:

  • Verkaufspreis
  • Rezensionen
  • Produktbilder

Der Verkaufspreis sollte immer den Erwartungen des potentiellen Käufers entsprechen. Zu beachten ist das ein zu niedrieg als auch zu hoch angesetzter Preis verkaufshemmend sein kann. Besonderes Augenmerk liegt bei den Produktrezensionen, je mehr positive desto besser. In der Regel konvertieren Produkte mit 4 bis 5 Sternen meistens besser. Genauso wichtig ist die äußerliche Erscheinung des Produktes (wie gut sind die Produktbilder gewählt), je anregender desto besser. Gute Produktbilder können genauso ein wichtiger Grund für einen Kauf sein wie Produktrezensionen.

2018-07-02T10:54:17+00:00 19.10.2017|