What Is Amazon Retail Readiness?

Each product available on Amazon has its detail page and assigned ASIN (Amazon Standard Identification Number). Moreover, is the so-called “Retail Readiness” which decides If and how well a product gets sold on the Marketplace.  Amazon Advertising is then linked directly with this since only Amazon products that are also “Retail-Ready” should be strategically advertised.

How Do I Make My Product Retail-Ready on Amazon?

One can classify the Retail Readiness on Amazon as soft and hard facts. In principle, every ASIN advertised with, for example, PPC campaigns ( hard facts) must be in stock. The BuyBox also belongs to the hard facts, because anyone who offers available products in the warehouse, but has not won or lost the BuyBox, e.g., due to a too a high selling price, is not Retail-Ready.

The soft facts of Retail Readiness on Amazon include everything concerning content and ratings: product title, bullet points, and product description, images, average overall rating, and several reviews. For brands registered with Amazon, optimized Enhanced Brand Content (EBC) for sellers as well as A+ content for vendors also count as Retail Readiness. All these areas can be influenced directly (content) or indirectly (reviews) and affect how well Amazon sells an article. Ultimately the hard facts are the deciding factor since the foundation is the availability of a product.

Amazon Retail Readiness – Ratings

The total number of customer reviews, as well as the average rating of an Amazon product, have a significant influence on the sales probability. As a general rule, the more positive reviews an item has received, the better the Retail Readiness of that individual item will be. Amazon itself recommends at least 15 ratings with an average of 3.5 stars and higher.

In addition to the official recommendation from Amazon, one should also consider the position of competing products. If the products of the first SERP (Search Engine Result Page) got an average of several hundred reviews in a niche, the general recommendation of 15+ reviews might be too low. However, there are also product categories in which even articles can sell very successfully without a review. However, in most cases: many positive reviews make article retail-ready.

Amazon Retail Readiness – Content

A product’s content is essential not only for the A9 relevance rating logon but also for the actual customer. A meaningful and style guide-oriented product with a well-built title, consisting of brand, model, main features, and relevant key words, are the most important factors for Retail Readiness.

The bullet points should also be optimized concerning keyword relevance and potential buyer conversion. Important characteristics of the product (e.g., size, color, volume, etc.), as well as additional search words and phrases, should be listed here. This product information must be administered carefully in each product. Sellers can do this either directly via SellerCentral or Flatfile. Vendors can change the content of their products via VendorCentral or their Amazon contacts (e.g., Vendor Manager).

Amazon Retail Readiness – Product Images

In e-commerce, good, high-resolution photos of products replace the tangible feel of the retail and specialist trade; this is no different for Amazon. Retail Ready” means articles with professional images that show the product from as many different perspectives as possible and are accurate in terms of color. Even slight color deviations between the product image and the physical product can quickly result in returns.

For product images on Amazon, it is also important that sellers and vendors adhere to the general image guidelines. The first photo is the most important because this is usually also displayed in the search results and is, therefore, an important eye-catcher. Only the sold products can be displayed and no examples of use, alternative articles, Logos, or other marketing-strategies.

Amazon Retail Readiness – Warehouse Availability

As mentioned earlier, the most important factor for Retail Readiness is the availability of an item in the warehouse. Sellers who use Amazon’s (FBA) fulfillment should always provide enough goods in time and send them to the warehouse. If a seller uses its warehouse (FBM), it must also be ensured that a product won’t get “out-of-stock.” Vendors, on the other hand, do not manage the availability of the Amazon warehouse themselves. However, they must be able to deliver an order if it is purchased.

In general, the following applies to sellers and vendors: the demand from potential buyers must be well planned or anticipated. Small stock quantities can be a problem, for example, with seasonal products. If, for example, advertising campaigns (e.g., sponsored brands) are switched to products and the products are out-of-stock, the campaign is paused, and significant sales are lost. Therefore, sufficient availability at the warehouse is a critical factor regarding Retail Readiness.

Amazon Retail Readiness – Buybox

The winning or losing of the BuyBox is particularly important for Retail Readiness about ongoing PPC campaigns. For example, if a vendor places a sponsored brand ad on a product for which he (or Amazon itself) does not own the BuyBox, then he will pay for every click on the ad, but the sales will not be attributed directly. Sponsored Product Ads would pause if the BuyBox gets lost but would not generate any impressions or traffic for the brand or the advertised products.

While a vendor cannot influence whether winning or losing the BuyBox, a seller can control this solely through the selling price (including shipping costs). The BuyBox is therefore often only won because the offer is the cheapest compared to all other sellers with the same product. The sales price can be automatically reduced and increased through the use of a so-called repricer. The “Prime” status of a product also influences the BuyBox and therefore the Retail Readiness.

Conclusion – Retail Ready in Amazon

Whether and how effectively the advertising campaigns run on Amazon is almost always determined by Retail Readiness. Amazon defines products with professional images, relevant and high-conversion content, and many good reviews as “retail-ready.” Time and experience have shown that it is possible to advertise these products much more effectively via PPC. Factors such as the visibility of displayed Ads and the profitability of the advertising campaigns are strongly related to Retail Readiness. Finally, it is important to keep in mind, that for sellers and vendors a clean ASIN optimization, as well as an ambitious campaign are required.

Amazon Retail Readiness

Was ist die Amazon Retail Readiness?

Jedes auf Amazon verfügbare Produkt hat eine eigene Detailseite und zugewiesene ASIN (Amazon Standard Identification Number). Ob und wie gut sich ein Produkt auf dem Marketplace verkaufen lässt, hängt von der sogenannten „Retail Readiness“ (sinngemäß übersetzt „Verkaufsfähigkeit“) ab. Davon direkt abhängig, bzw. in Zusammenhang steht auch das Amazon Advertising, denn nur die Amazon-Produkte, die auch „retail ready“ sind, sollten auch (strategisch) beworben werden.

Wie mache ich mein Produkt auf Amazon „retail ready“?

Die Retail Readiness auf Amazon kann im Wesentlichen Soft- und Hard-Facts unterteilt werden. Grundsätzlich muss natürlich jede ASIN, die bspw. mit PPC-Kampagnen beworben werden soll, auch tatsächlich verfügbar sein, sprich im Lager vorrätig sein. Auch die BuyBox zählt zu den Hard-Facts, denn wer zwar im Lager verfügbare Produkte anbietet, aber die BuyBox z.B. aufgrund eines zu hohen Verkaufspreises nicht gewinnt, bzw. verloren hat, ist per Definition ebenfalls nicht retail ready.

Zu den Soft-Facts der Retail Readiness auf Amazon zählt alles, was den Content und die Bewertungen betrifft: Produkttitel, Bulletpoints und Produktbeschreibung, Bilder, durchschnittliche Gesamtbewertung und Anzahl der Rezensionen. Für bei Amazon registrierte Marken zählt auch optimierter Enhanced Brand Content (kurz EBC) für Seller, bzw. A+ Content für Vendoren zur Retail Readiness. All diese Bereiche lassen sich direkt (Content) oder indirekt (Rezensionen) beeinflussen und haben eine Auswirkung, ob und wie gut sich ein Artikel auf Amazon verkaufen lässt. In erster Linie entscheidend sind aber die Hard-Facts, denn die Grundlage ist immer die reine Verfügbarkeit eines Produkts.

Amazon Retail Readiness – Bewertungen

amazon-retail-readiness-rezensionen

Die Gesamtzahl der Kundenrezensionen als auch die durchschnittliche Bewertung eines Amazon-Produkts haben einen großen Einfluss auf die Verkaufswahrscheinlichkeit. Generell gilt: Desto mehr positive Rezensionen zu einem Artikel abgegeben wurden, desto besser ist die Retail Readiness dieses einzelnen Artikels. Amazon selbst empfiehlt hier mindestens 15 Bewertungen mit einem Durchschnitt von 3,5 Sternen und höher.

Neben der offiziellen Empfehlung von Amazon sollte jedoch auch beachtet werden, wie die jeweiligen Konkurrenzprodukte aufgestellt sind. Wenn in einer Nische die Produkte der ersten SERP (Search Engine Result Page) durchschnittlich mehrere hundert Rezensionen empfangen haben, so kann die allgemeine Empfehlung von 15+ Bewertungen schon zu gering sein. Es gibt allerdings auch Produktkategorien in denen sich selbst Artikel ohne eine einzige Bewertung sehr gut verkaufen. Generell aber gilt: Viele positive Rezensionen machen einen Artikel retail ready.

Amazon Retail Readiness – Titel, Bulletpoints, Beschreibung

amazon-retail-readiness-content

Der Content eines Produkts ist nicht nur für den A9-Alogrithmus zur Relevanzbewertung wichtig, sondern auch für den tatsächlichen Käufer. Ein aussagefähiger und Styleguide-konformer Produkttitel bestehend aus Marke, Modell, Haupteigenschaften aber auch relevanten Suchworten ist für die Retail Readiness der wichtigste Faktor.

Die Bulletpoints sollten dabei ebenfalls hinsichtlich Keyword-Relevanz und Conversion für den potentiellen Käufer optimiert sein. Hier sollten wichtige Eigenschaften des Produkts (z.B. Größe, Farbe, Volumen usw.) als auch ergänzende Suchworte und Suchphrasen aufgelistet werden. Diese Produktinformationen sind dringend für jedes Produkt ordentlich zu pflegen. Seller können dies entweder direkt über die SellerCentral oder Flatfile tun. Vendoren haben die Möglichkeit, den Content ihrer Produkte über die VendorCentral, bzw. ihre Amazon-Kontakte (z.B. Vendor-Manager) zu ändern.

Amazon Retail Readiness – Produktbilder

amazon-retail-readiness-bilder

Im E-Commerce ersetzen gute, hochauflösende Fotos der Produkte die Haptik im Einzel- und Fachhandel und das ist auch bei Amazon nicht anders. Als „retail ready“ gelten hier Artikel mit professionellen Fotos, die das Produkt möglichst von verschiedenen Perspektiven zeigen und auch hinsichtlich der Farbe akkurat sind. Bereits leichte Farbabweichungen zwischen Produktbild und physischen Produkt können schnell Retouren zur Folge haben.

Bei Produktbildern auf Amazon ist es u.a. auch wichtig, dass Seller und Vendoren sich an die allgemeinen Bildrichtlinien halten. Das erste Foto ist dabei das wichtigste, denn dies wird meist auch in den Suchergebnissen angezeigt und ist daher ein wichtiger Eye-Catcher. Zu sehen sein darf hier nur das auch tatsächlich verkaufte Produkte und keine Anwendungsbeispiele, Variantenartikel, Logos oder sonstiges Marketing-Material.

Amazon Retail Readiness – Lager-Verfügbarkeit

amazon-retail-readiness-verfuegbarkeit

Wie bereits erwähnt ist die wichtigste Grundlage für die Retail Readiness die Verfügbarkeit eines Artikels im Lager. Seller, welche das Fulfillment von Amazon (FBA) nutzen, sollten immer rechtzeitig genügend Ware bereitstellen, bzw. ans Warenlager senden. Nutzt ein Seller das eigene Warenlager (FBM), so muss auch hier gewährleistet sein, dass ein Produkt nicht „out-of-stock“ ist. Vendoren hingegen verwalten die Verfügbarkeit beim Amazon-Warenlager nicht selbst, müssen jedoch bei einer eigehenden Purchase-Order lieferfähig sein.

Generell gilt für Seller und Vendoren: Die Nachfrage von potentiellen Käufern muss gut geplant, bzw. antizipiert werden. Geringe Lagermengen können z.B. gerade bei saisonalen Produkten ein Problem sein. Werden bspw. Werbekampagnen (z.B. Sponsored Brands) auf Produkte geschaltet und die Produkte sind out-of-stock, so wird die Kampagne pausiert und wichtiger Umsatz geht verloren. Daher ist eine ausreichende Verfügbarkeit am Lager der grundlegend wichtigste Faktor hinsichtlich der Retail Readiness.

Amazon Retail Readiness – BuyBox

amazon-retail-readiness-buybox

Das Gewinnen, bzw. Verlieren der BuyBox ist gerade in Bezug auf laufende PPC-Kampagnen für die Retail Readiness besonders wichtig. Schaltet bspw. ein Vendor eine Sponsored Brand Ad auf Produkte, für die er (bzw. Amazon selbst) nicht die BuyBox besitzt, so bezahlt er zwar für jeden Klick auf die Ad, bekommt die Verkäufe allerdings nicht direkt zugeschrieben. Sponsored Product Ads würden bei einem Verlust der BuyBox zwar pausieren, aber damit auch keine Impressionen und keinen Traffic mehr für die Marke, bzw. die beworbenen Produkte erzeugen.

Während ein Vendor das Gewinnen oder Verlieren der BuyBox nicht beeinflussen kann, so lässt das bei einem Seller oft allein über den Verkaufspreis (inklusive Versandkosten) steuern. Die BuyBox wird daher oft allein nur dadurch gewonnen, weil das eigenen Angebot den günstigsten Gesamtpreis (Verkaufspreis + Versandkosten) im Vergleich zu allen anderen Verkäufern desselben Produktes hat. Der Verkaufspreis kann durch den Einsatz eines sogenannten Repricers automatisiert gesenkt und angehoben werden. Auch die Prime-Fähigkeit eines Artikels hat Einfluss auf die BuyBox und damit indirekt auch auf die Retail Readiness.

Fazit – retail ready auf Amazon

Ob und wie effektiv die Werbekampagnen auf Amazon laufen, entscheidet fast immer die Retail Readiness. Produkte mit professionellen Bildern, relevanten und Conversion-starken Content sowie vielen, guten Rezensionen definiert Amazon als „retail ready“. Eben diese Produkte können erfahrungsgemäß auch wesentlich effektiver über PPC beworben werden. Nicht nur die Wahrscheinlichkeit, ob und wie oft eine Werbeanzeige in den Amazon Suchergebnissen ausgespielt wird, sondern auch wie rentabel die Kampagnen laufen haben stark etwas mit der Retail Readiness zu tun. Eine saubere ASIN-Optimierung als auch ein durchdachte Kampagnen-Struktur sind daher für Seller und Vendoren obligatorisch.

2019-03-29T18:32:47+02:00 29.03.2019|