What does CPS (Cost per Sale) mean?

The abbreviation CPS stands for “Cost per Sale“. CPS is a model from the field of online marketing in which billing takes place after sale. With this billing method, the affiliate operator only receives his commission when a visitor has made a purchase on the target page. However, it must also be noted that the revocation period must have expired before the commission is paid out.

How CPS works

With the Cost per Sale (CPS) model, an affiliate participating in an affiliate program such as Amazon PartnerNet or another affiliate network of a manufacturer receives an affiliate commission if one of the products he advertises on his website is ordered via his affiliate link. As usual, however, he must first wait for the expiry of the revocation period before the commission can actually be paid out. Without this additional condition, it could happen that the customer sends the goods back, the seller has to refund the order amount and remains on the commission already paid without having achieved sales proceeds. The affiliate partner therefore makes advance payments and works (on a commission basis) as a kind of intermediary.

The amount of the commission can be determined individually. For example, a variable payment based on the retail value or a fixed commission per order or unit is possible. In addition, the affiliate can also participate in the sales on the basis of a lifetime fee. The affiliate receives a certain commission for a lifetime (or at least for a longer period of time) for each order or payment that an acquired customer executes. Both the seller and the affiliate must decide individually and depending on all general conditions which model makes the most sense for them. A multitude of factors must be taken into account here.

What are the alternatives to CPS?

In addition to the “CPS” billing method, there are many other models in online marketing according to which affiliate commissions can be calculated. Here are some prominent alternatives:

  • Cost per Click / Pay per Click (CPC or PPC)
  • Cost per Lead / Pay per Lead (CPL or PPL)
  • Cost per Order / Pay per Order (CPO or PPO)
  • Cost per View / Pay per View (CPV or PPV)
  • Cost per Action / Pay per Action (CPA or PPA)

CPS

Was bedeutet CPS (Cost per Sale)?

Die Abkürzung CPS steht für „Cost per Sale“, also auf Deutsch „Kosten pro Verkauf“. CPS ist ein Modell aus dem Bereich des Online Marketing, bei dem die Abrechnung nach Verkauf erfolgt. Der Affiliate-Betreiber bekommt bei dieser Abrechnungsmethode genau dann seine Provision, wenn ein Besucher auf der Zielseite einen Kauf getätigt hat. Hierbei muss jedoch auch ebenso beachtet werden, dass zunächst die Widerrufsfrist verstrichen sein muss, bevor die Provision ausgezahlt wird.

So funktioniert CPS

Bei dem Modell Cost per Sale (CPS) erhält ein Affiliate, der an einem Partnerprogramm wie z.B. dem Amazon PartnerNet oder einem anderen Affiliate-Netzwerk eines Herstellers teilnimmt, eine Affiliate-Provision, wenn eines der Produkte, die er auf seiner Website bewirbt, über seinen Affiliate-Link bestellt wurde. Wie sonst auch üblich muss er jedoch erst den Ablauf der Widerrufsfrist abwarten, bevor die Provision tatsächlich ausgezahlt werden kann. Ohne diese zusätzliche Bedingung könnte es sonst passieren, dass der Kunde die Ware zurückschickt, der Verkäufer die Bestellsumme erstatten muss und auf der bereits gezahlten Provision sitzen bleibt, ohne dass er Verkaufserlöse erzielt hat. Der Affiliate-Partner geht demnach in Vorleistung und arbeitet (auf Provisionsbasis) quasi als Vermittler.

Die Höhe der Provision kann individuell bestimmt werden. Denkbar ist hier z.B. eine variable Vergütung auf Basis des Verkaufswertes oder eine fixe Provision pro Bestellung oder Stück. Daneben besteht zudem die Möglichkeit, den Affiliate auf Basis einer Lifetime-Vergütung an den Verkäufen partizipieren zu lassen. Dabei erhält der Affiliate ein Leben lang (oder zumindes für einen längeren Zeitraum) für jede Bestellung oder Zahlung, die ein geworbener Kunde ausführt, eine gewisse Provision. Sowohl der Verkäufer als auch der Affiliate muss hierbei individuell und in Abhängigkeit aller Rahmenbedingungen entscheiden, welches Modell für ihn das sinnvollste ist. Hier muss eine Vielzahl an Faktoren beachtet werden.

Welche Alternativen zu CPS gibt es?

Neben der Abrechnungsmethode „CPS“ existieren viele weitere Modelle im Online Marketing, nach denen man die Provisionen von Affiliates berechnen kann. Hier ein paar prominente Alternativen:

  • Cost per Click / Pay per Click (CPC bzw. PPC)
  • Cost per Lead / Pay per Lead (CPL bzw. PPL)
  • Cost per Order / Pay per Order (CPO bzw. PPO)
  • Cost per View / Pay per View (CPV bzw. PPV)
  • Cost per Action / Pay per Action (CPA bzw. PPA)
2017-12-05T14:23:11+00:00 30.11.2017|