What Is Search Retargeting and How Does This Form of Advertising Work?

Search Retargeting is a relatively new advertising concept in online marketing. As a dynamic form of retargeting, this method is used to target a target group after a user from this target group has carried out a certain action. This means that after a certain action, which will be explained in more detail below, a so-called display ad, i.e. a form of banner advertising, is played out to the users.

What is new about search retargeting, in contrast to the other forms of retargeting, is that it additionally combines display advertising, which was also used previously, with search engine advertising. This is because, with Search Retargeting, customers are targeted based on search queries and the keywords used in them, similar to Search Engine Advertising or Performance Marketing. Thus, the advertising is not only targeted at customers who have visited a company’s website and have thus already come into contact with the brand at least once but also at customers who have not specifically searched for the brand or the website, which means that the customer does not need specific brand knowledge. Basically, all those who are looking for keywords that you yourself bid on are targeted.

The search retargeting works like a bidding system. Here, advertisers can bid on certain keywords, and for the highest bidder on this keyword, the advertisement is played by this one when searching for the keyword.

In this way, campaigns can be run that is based on your own keywords and are relevant for the company, brand, and its products. For example, furniture manufacturers can display ads for users who have previously searched for ‘dining table’ or ‘kitchen table’. The target groups are thus targeted according to their searches on other websites.

The aim of Search Retargeting is to increase brand reach and thus to place more targeted advertising more cost-effectively. After all, only those users are targeted who have already been looking for exactly this product.

Difference to Site Targeting

Site retargeting is the form of advertising in which customers who have visited a company’s website are shown a display ad of that site. So when a user visits another website, an ad is played from exactly the same page that was previously visited. Site targeting is not based on keywords and often targets people who have already decided against the product the moment they have left the company’s website.

This is the main difference between Search Retargeting and Side Targeting. While side retargeting is used to re-target already known customers in order to persuade them to buy, search retargeting is used to acquire new customers who have not necessarily been in contact with the company or brand before.

In search advertising, the display ads are usually displayed directly next to the results of the search queries, whereas in search retargeting, the ads are only played out when the searcher has left the website or switches from the search results to a website, for example.

How does Search Retargeting work?

retargeting-remarketingAs already mentioned, the search retargeting is based on keywords. Ideally, advertisers should first start a comprehensive analysis of keywords to find out when which keyword is searched for and how often which keyword is searched for. The whole thing is based on a bidding system where you can bid on certain keywords and are then played out if you are the highest bidder on that keyword. It is optimal to adapt the bids to the strength (frequency of search queries or search volume) of the keywords and to ask yourself which keywords can actually convert and which cannot. Due to the meanwhile high competition in bidding on keywords, care must be taken to ensure that the budget has been used purposefully and sensibly. By linking to display ads, you can implement your own logos and visual aspects into the banner advertising. This is not the case with PPC campaigns, for example, where the design and structure is often specified by the provider. With Amazon Advertising, for example, the ad is often generated from existing product data such as images, titles, ratings and prime availability.

Advantages of Search Retargeting

By tying advertising campaigns to specific search queries, very precise targeting is made possible, which hits exactly those people who are already looking for the right product and shows a buying interest in every case. This precise search retargeting can also provide insight into the minds of the customers, or the way they think and search intentions. By regularly monitoring this data, the advertiser can understand how his customers search and how they do not search. These keywords provide the advertiser with data in the appropriate context, giving him valuable information about the consumer. In this way, the campaign can be optimized and sharpened to improve the return on investment (ROI).

Search retargeting is particularly interesting when it comes to making targeted use of an already existing buying interest.

Strategies for Search Retargeting

A tip for search retargeting is to start with the largest possible keyword set and check which keywords really convert with the help of regular reports. The keyword set can then be gradually minimized and sharpened to the converting keywords in order to use the budget optimally. This variant is much easier than evaluating downstream which keywords could also convert and adding them to the running advertising campaigns afterward.

In addition, the target group should be deployed gradually. The data and information collected on consumers can be used to find out exactly how specific customers search, what commonalities exist among consumers, and what customers have previously searched for. This information helps to optimize both the product and the advertising campaigns themselves, as well as to better understand the customer journey.

Search Retargeting Example

A user has searched for e.g. “cheap fitness studio Hamburg trial training” on the web but has not agreed on a trial training. The programmatically purchased display advertising can now reach him again afterward with a banner tailored to his needs. Here, therefore, with an advertising medium that shows fitness studios in the right category in Hamburg. In this way, the buying interest documented by the concrete search query can be converted into a deal. Or simply put:: The search interest is advertised directly and specifically and thus a deal is generated.

How Is Search Retargeting Related to the Amazon Dsp?

The Amazon DSP, like other “demand-side platforms”, is a programmatic advertising platform on which users can be targeted specifically and filled with ads. Search retargeting has been possible in the Google area for a long time, but not yet with the Amazon DSP. However, further, very targeted ads can be realized in the area of programmatic advertising on Amazon. Product retargeting ads, for example, are very sales-oriented and therefore usually controllable with a good ROAS. If a user was previously on a certain product, a certain ASIN, then targeted retargeting ads can be used to track the user on external websites until he or she actually completes the purchase.

Was ist Search Retargeting und wie funktioniert diese Werbeform?

Das Search Retargeting ist ein relativ neues Werbekonzept im Online-Marketing. Als eine dynamische Form des Retargetings targetiert man mit diesem Retargeting eine Zielgruppe, nachdem ein Nutzer aus dieser Zielgruppe eine bestimmte Aktion durchgeführt hat. Das heißt man spielt den Nutzern nach einer bestimmten Aktion, welche im Folgenden genauer erläutert wird, eine sogenannte Display Ad, also eine Form der Bannerwerbung, aus.  

Das Neue am Search Retargeting ist im Gegensatz zu den anderen Retargeting-Formen, dass es das auch bisher verwendete Display Advertising zusätzlich mit dem Search Engine Advertising verbindet. Denn beim Search Retargeting werden Kunden anhand von Suchanfragen und den darin verwendeten Keywords targetiert, ähnlich wie beim Search Engine Advertising, bzw. Performance Marketing. So wird die Werbung nicht nur Kunden ausgespielt, welche die Website eines Unternehmens besucht haben und so schon mindestens einmal mit der Marke in Kontakt gekommen sind, sondern auch den Kunden, die nicht spezifisch nach der Marke oder der Website gesucht haben, wodurch der Kunde keine spezifischen Markenkenntnisse braucht. Im Grunde werden also alle die targetiert, die Keywords suchen, auf die man selbst bietet.  

Das Search Retargeting funktioniert wie in einem Gebots-System. Dabei können die Werbenden auf bestimmte Keywords bieten und für den Höchstbietenden auf diesem Keyword, wird die Werbeanzeige von diesem bei der Suche nach dem Keyword ausgespielt.  

Auf diese Weise können Kampagnen geschaltet werden, die auf eigenen Keywords basieren und relevant für das Unternehmen, bzw. Marke und deren Produkte sind. So kann man zum Beispiel als Möbelhersteller Display Ads für die Nutzer ausspielen lassen, die zuvor nach ‘Esstisch’ oder ‘Küchentisch’ gesucht haben. Die Zielgruppen werden also nach deren Suchen auf anderen Websites targetiert. 

Das Ziel von Search Retargeting ist es, die Markenreichweite zu erhöhen und so gezieltere Werbung kosteneffizienter zu schalten. Es werden schließlich nur die Nutzer targetiert, die ohnehin schon nach exakt diesen Produkt gesucht haben.

Unterschied zum Site Targeting

Das Site Retargeting ist die Werbeform, bei dem die Kunden, die die Webseite eines Unternehmens besucht haben, eine Display Ad dieser Seite ausgespielt bekommen. Wenn ein Nutzer eine andere Webseite besucht, wird also genau von der zuvorbesuchten Seite eine Werbeanzeige ausgespielt. Das Site Targeting basiert nicht auf Keywords und targetiert oft Menschen, die sich bereits gegen das Produkt entschieden haben, in dem Moment in dem sie die Unternehmenswebseite verlassen haben. 

Damit unterscheidet sich vor allem die Zielsetzung des Search Retargetings vom Side Targetings. Denn während beim Side Retargeting bereits bekannte Kunden nochmals angestrebt werden, um sie zum Kauf zu überreden, sollen beim Search Retargeting neue Kunden gewonnen werden, die nicht zwangsläufig schon einmal mit dem Unternehmen oder der Marke in Kontakt gewesen sind. 

Beim Search Advertising werden die Display Ads meist direkt neben den Ergebnissen der Suchanfragen angezeigt, während beim Search Retargeting erst die Anzeigen ausgespielt werden, wenn die Sucher zum Beispiel die Internetseite verlassen hat oder von den Suchergebnissen auf eine Website wechselt. 

Wie funktioniert Search Retargeting?

retargeting-remarketingDas Search Retargeting basiert wie bereits erwähnt auf Keywords. Advertiser sollten im Optimalfall erst eine umfassende Analyse von Keywords starten, um herauszufinden, wann welches Keyword gesucht wird und wie oft welches Keyword gesucht wird. Das Ganze basiert auf einem Gebot-System, bei dem man auf bestimmte Keywords bieten kann und dann ausgespielt wird, wenn man der Höchstbietende auf diesem Keyword ist. Optimal ist es, wenn man die Gebote an die Stärke (Häufigkeit der Suchanfragen, bzw. Suchvolumen) der Keywords anpasst und sich dabei fragt, welche Keywords im Endeffekt wirklich konvertieren können und welche nicht. Durch die inzwischen hohe Konkurrenz beim Bieten auf Keywords muss darauf geachtet werden, dass das Budget gezielt und sinnvoll eingesetzt wurde. Durch die Verknüpfung mit Display Ads kann man in die Bannerwerbung eigene Logos und visuelle Aspekte implementieren. Dies ist bei PPC Kampagnen bspw. nicht der Fall, da dort oft das Design und die Struktur vom Anbieter vorgegeben wird. Beim Amazon Advertising wird zum Beispiel die Werbeanzeige oft aus den bereits vorhandenen Produktdaten wie Bilder, Titel, Bewertungen und Prime-Verfügbarkeit generiert.

Vorteile von Search Retargeting

Durch die Bindung von Werbekampagnen an bestimmte Suchanfragen wird ein sehr genaues Targeting ermöglicht, das genau die Personen trifft, die schon nach dem richtigen Produkt sucht und ein Kaufinteresse in jedem Fall aufzeigt. Dieses präzise Search Retargeting kann zudem Einsicht in die Köpfe der Kunden, bzw. der Denkweise und Suchintention bieten. Durch regelmäßiges Monitoring dieser Daten kann der Werbende verstehen, wie seine Kunden suchen und wie sie nicht suchen. Durch diese Keywords werden dem Werbetreibenden Daten im zugehörigen Kontext geliefert, wodurch ihm wertvolle Informationen über den Verbraucher an die Hand gegeben werden. So kann die Kampagne zielgerichtet optimiert und zugespitzt werden, um den Return of Invest (ROI) zu verbessern.  

Das Search Retargeting ist besonders interessant, wenn es darum geht, ein bereits vorhandenes Kaufinteresse gezielt zu nutzen. 

Strategien beim Search Retargeting

Ein Tipp für das Search Retargeting ist es, mit einem möglichst großen Keyword-Set zu beginnen und mit Hilfe regelmäßiger Reports zu kontrollieren, welche Keywords wirklich konvertieren. Das Keyword-Set kann dann nach und nach minimiert und auf die konvertierenden Keywords zugespitzt werden, um das Budget optimal einsetzten zu können. Diese Variante ist deutlich einfacher als nachgelagert auszuwerten, welche Keywords ebenfalls konvertieren könnten und diese im Nachhinein den laufenden Werbekampagnen hinzuzufügen.  

Außerdem sollte die Zielgruppe nach und nach eingesetzt werden. Mithilfe der Daten und Informationen, die über die Verbraucher gesammelt werden, kann herausgefunden werden, wie spezifische Kunden genau suchen, welche Gemeinsamkeiten es bei den Verbrauchern gibt und wonach die Kunden zuvor gesucht haben. Diese Informationen helfen sowohl das Produkt als auch die Werbekampagnen an sich zu optimieren als auch die Customer Journey besser nachvollziehen zu können. 

Search Retargeting Beispiel

Ein User hat nach bspw. „günstiges Fitnessstudio Hamburg Probetraining“ im Web gesucht, aber kein Probetraining vereinbart. Durch die programmatisch gekaufte Displaywerbung kann er nun im Nachhinein mit einem auf ihn zugeschnittenen Banner erneut erreicht werden. Hier also mit einem Werbemittel, das Fitnessstudios in der richtigen Kategorie in Hamburg anzeigt. So lässt sich das durch die konkrete Suchanfrage dokumentierte Kaufinteresse in einen Abschluss umwandeln. Oder einfach gesagt:: Das Suchinteresse wird direkt und gezielt beworben und damit ein Abschluss generiert.

Wie hängt Search Retargeting mit der Amazon DSP zusammen?

Die Amazon DSP ist, wie andere „Demand Side Platforms“ eine programmatische Werbeplattform, auf der Nutzer gezielt targetiert und mit Anzeigen bespielt werden können. Im Google-Bereich ist ein Search Retargeting bereits seit längerem möglich, allerdings mit die Amazon DSP diese Form des Targetings noch nicht. Dafür lassen sich allerdings weitere, sehr zielgerichtet Anzeigen im Bereich Programmatic Advertising auf Amazon realisieren. Sehr Umsatz-orientiert und daher meist auch mit einem guten ROAS steuerbar sind bspw. die Produkt-Retargeting-Anzeigen. War ein Nutzer zuvor auf einem bestimmten Produkt, einer bestimmten ASIN, dann lässt sich über gezielte Retargeting-Anzeigen der Nutzer auf externen Websites weiterverfolgen, bis er den Kauf auch tatsächlich abschließt.