Multichannel

The term multichannel or also multichannel strategy stands for a strategic approach of service providers and acting. In this way, an attempt is made to reach potential customers on several so-called “channels”. This can be through targeted advertising (multichannel marketing) or presence on a marketplace.

Wikipedia defines the term multi-channel strategy as follows:

Multichannel marketing or multichannel strategy is the strategic approach of retailers and service providers to reach (potential) consumers through several different communication channels. This form of marketing is the consistent continuation of the use of different advertising channels; now in the form of the provision of different communication and distribution channels.

With the general spread of mobile devices, the buzzword “Everywhere Commerce” has also found its way into the trade press. The term refers on the one hand to e-commerce and on the other hand to the fact that customers can enter a purchasing decision process anytime and anywhere.

Traditional multichannel distribution channels used to be catalog and mail order, teleshopping and stationary retail. E-commerce has degenerated teleshopping and the catalogue trade to marginal groups and provides a multitude of own distribution channels.

Multi-Channel marketing

In multichannel marketing, the goal is to communicate directly and indirectly with customers and prospects. It is about reaching the customer on the channel where the customer is. Thus the purchase process is controlled more by the customer than by the marketer.

Direct communication channels can be a stationary shop, catalogues or postcards. Indirect channels can be, for example, the homepage, blog posts or the social media presence. This type of marketing is also referred to as inbound marketing. Further possibilities for multichannel marketing can be advertising in apps, SMS, e-mail or search engine optimization (SEO). Consumers today have more choices than ever before to get the information they need.

Onlinemarketing-Praxis describes multichannel marketing as follows:

Multichannel marketing is also called multichannel strategy and describes the communication and sales strategy of companies to reach people from the target group via various communication and sales measures.

This can be online measures such as search engine advertising, display marketing, social media marketing, online PR or e-mail marketing, as well as offline measures such as print ads, sponsoring, trade fairs & events or personal sales. Comprehensive multichannel marketing often consists of a mix of online and offline activities.

Multichannel distribution

Distribution via many channels is called multichannel distribution. Here, the seller offers his goods via several distribution channels. Especially in e-commerce, this type of distribution is of decisive importance. In the course of time some marketplaces have been established which can contribute a decisive part to the turnover. For globally operating companies it is no longer sufficient to offer the goods only in their own online shop. Marketplaces such as Amazon, Ebay & Zalando offer sellers an interesting platform for their own goods.

This use of several trading platforms in the e-commerce environment presents companies with new challenges. All marketplaces must be administered and maintained. If possible, to the same extent, in order not to miss the connection on a platform. Service providers who offer a software solution have positioned themselves for the uniform administration of these marketplaces. With the help of these systems it is possible to manage the data only on one platform and to manage all marketplaces synchronously.

Multichannel shipping on Amazon

Retailers who sell on Amazon can use the “Multi-Channel Shipping” service. The prerequisite for this is that the retailer uses the professional sales tariff and stores his goods at Amazon. The Multi-Channel Shipping (MCF) program is part of the shipping through Amazon program. When selling via channels other than Amazon, the desired goods can be packaged and shipped via the Amazon fulfillment center. Orders can also be processed via your own website or via Ebay with the help of Amazon FBA. 1- and 2-day premium shipping is also available with this shipping option. If desired, Amazon can also take care of returns processing.

This shipping method is a good option if individual marketplaces generate significantly less turnover than Amazon. The entire storage at Amazon makes it easy to keep an eye on the stock and to fall back on Amazon’s many years of logistics expertise.

2018-11-07T16:47:12+02:00 07.11.2018|

Was bedeutet „Multichannel“?

Der Begriff Multichannel oder auch Multikanalstrategie steht für einen strategischen Ansatz von Dienstleistern und dem Handeln. Auf diese Weise wird versucht potenzielle Kunden auf mehreren sogenannten „Kanälen“ zu erreichen. Dies kann durch gezielte Werbung (Multichannelmarketing) oder die Präsenz auf einem Marktplatz sein.

Wikipedia definiert den Begriff Multikanalstrategie wie folgt:

Multichannel-Marketing oder Multikanalstrategie ist der strategische Ansatz des Handels und der Dienstleister, die (potenziellen) Konsumenten auf mehreren verschiedenen Kommunikationskanälen zu erreichen. Diese Form des Marketings ist die konsequente Fortsetzung der Nutzung unterschiedlicher Werbekanäle; nun in Form von Bereitstellung unterschiedlicher Kommunikations- und Vertriebswege.

Mit der allgemeinen Verbreitung von mobilen Endgeräten hat auch das Schlagwort vom „Everywhere Commerce“ in die Fachpresse Einzug gehalten. Der Begriff verweist einerseits auf E-Commerce und andererseits auf die Tatsache, dass Kunden jederzeit und allerorts in einen Kaufentscheidungsprozess einsteigen können.

Klassische Multichannel-Vertriebswege waren früher Katalog- und Versandhandel, Teleshopping und der stationäre Einzelhandel. Der E-Commerce hat Teleshopping und den Kataloghandel zu Randgruppen verkommen lassen und stellt eine Vielzahl eigener Vertriebswege.

Multichannel Marketing

Beim Multichannel Marketing ist das Ziel mit Kunden und Interessenten direkt und indirekt zu kommunizieren. Es geht darum den Kunden auf dem Kanal zu erreichen auf dem der Kunde sich aufhält. Dadurch wird der Kaufprozess mehr vom Kunden als vom Vermarkter kontrolliert.

Direkte Kommunikationswege können ein stationäres Geschäft, Kataloge oder Postkarten sein. Indirekte Kanäle können zum Beispiel die Homepage, Blogbeiträge oder der Social Media Auftritt sein. Bei dieser Art von Marketing wird auch von Inbound-Marketing gesprochen. Weitere Möglichkeiten für Multichannel Marketing können Werbung in Apps, SMS, E-Mail oder Suchmaschinenoptimierung (SEO) sein. Konsumenten haben heutzutage mehr Auswahl als je zuvor, um an benötigte Informationen zu kommen.

Onlinemarketing-Praxis beschreibt Multichannel-Marketing wie folgt:

Multichannel-Marketing wird auch Multikanalstrategie genannt und bezeichnet die Kommunikations- und Vertriebsstrategie von Unternehmen, Personen aus der Zeilgruppe über unterschiedliche Kommunikations- und Vertriebsmaßnahmen zu erreichen.

Das können sowohl Online-Maßnahmen wie Suchmaschinenwerbung, Display-Marketing, Social-Media-Marketing, Online-PR oder E-Mail-Marketing, als auch Offline-Maßnahmen wie Printanzeigen, Sponsoring, Messen & Events oder persönlicher Verkauf sein. Ein umfassendes Multichannel-Marketing besteht häufig aus dem Mix von On-und Offline-Maßnahmen.

Multichannel Vertrieb

Der Vertrieb über viele Kanäle wird als Multichannel Vertrieb bezeichnet. Hierbei bietet der Verkäufer seine Ware über mehrere Distributionswege an. Besonders im E-Commerce kommt dieser Vertriebsart eine entscheidende Bedeutung zu. Im Laufe der Zeit haben sich einige Marktplätze etabliert, welche einen entscheidenden Teil zum Umsatz beitragen können. Für global agierende Unternehmen ist es nicht mehr ausreichend die Waren nur im eigenen Online-Shop anzubieten. Marktplätze wie Amazon, Ebay & Zalando bieten dem Verkäufer eine interessante Plattform für die eigene Ware.

Diese Nutzung von mehreren Handelnsplattformen im E-Commerce Umfeld stellt Unternehmen vor neue Herausforderungen. Alle Marktplätze müssen verwaltet und gepflegt werden. Nach Möglichkeit im gleichen Maße, um nicht den Anschluss auf einer Plattform zu verpassen. Zur einheitlichen Verwaltung dieser Marktplätze haben sich Dienstleister positioniert, die eine Softwarelösung anbieten. Mit Hilfe dieser Systeme ist es möglich die Daten nur auf einer Plattform zu verwalten und alle Marktplätze synchron zu verwalten.

Multichannel Versand auf Amazon

Händler die auf Amazon verkaufen können die Dienstleistung „Multi-Channel Versand“ in Anspruch nehmen. Voraussetzung dafür ist, dass der Händler den Verkaufstarif Professionell nutzt und seine Ware bei Amazon lagert. Das Multi-Channel-Versand (MCF) Programm ist Bestandteil des Versand durch Amazon Programm. Beim Verkauf über andere Kanäle als Amazon kann die gewünschte Ware über das Amazon Fulfillmentcenter verpackt und versendet werden. So können auch Bestellungen über die eigene Website oder über Ebay mit Hilfe von Amazon FBA abgewickelt werden. 1- und 2-Tage-Premiumversand steht auch bei dieser Versandoption zur Verfügung. Auf Wunsch übernimmt Amazon auch die Retourenabwicklung.

Diese Versandart ist eine gute Möglichkeit, wenn einzelne Marktplätze deutlich weniger Umsatz einbringen als Amazon. Durch die gesamte Lagerung bei Amazon kann der Lagerbestand leicht im Auge behalten und auf die langjährige Logistikexpertise von Amazon zurückgegriffen werden.