What does GTIN stand for?

GTIN is the abbreviation for Global Trade Item Number. It is an identification number for the worldwide identification of products and services. This number allows products to be uniquely identified. The GTIN is used for worldwide, unambiguous assignment.

The GTIN is awarded by GS1 (Global Standards One). This organization assigns and manages the Global Trade Item Number. In Germany, GS1 Germany is responsible for assigning the numbers.

The assignment of the unique identification number creates uniform standards for companies worldwide.

EAN became GTIN

The Global Trade Item Number (GTIN) is the current designation for the European Article Number (EAN), which is valid until 2009. The term GTIN has since become the globally standardized name for this identification number.

Structure of a GTIN

The GTIN usually has 13 digits. It contains the country name (each country has its own combination of numbers), the company number of the respective company, the article number and a check digit at the end.

For particularly small products, on which a 13-digit Global Trade Item Number does not fit, a so-called short number can be used. This number has 8 digits and contains the country name, the article number and a one-digit check digit at the end of the GTIN.

Furthermore there are the GTIN 14 and the GTIN 12.

How does the GTIN become readable for machines?

In order to make a Global Trade Item Number machine-readable, the GS1 can generate a barcode. The GTIN can also be represented by an Electronic Product Code (EPC).

What are the advantages of the GTIN?

The GTIN is a global standardization. The identification number facilitates the flow of worldwide goods traffic. The products can be identified without overlapping. With the help of the barcode, articles can be registered more quickly at cash registers. Typing errors can be avoided by scanning the code.

How important is the Global Trade Item Number for online trading?

Many marketplaces and search engines, such as Amazon, eBay, Google, etc., require a clear identification of products and services. The Amazon help setting states that the EAN code is required for a product “in order to improve the overall quality of the search results and the catalogue”.

At Amazon, each Global Trade Item Number (formerly EAN) is assigned to its own ASIN. For example, if a trader wants to sell a product with the same GTIN that is already being offered by another Amazon seller, the product will have the same ASIN and will be linked to the trader’s listing.

In order to avoid being added to an existing listing as an Amazon dealer, you should consider in advance whether you want to sell a product for which you are not the producer. When producing your own article, you should have your own GTIN created and then get your own ASIN for your product at Amazon, which no other dealer owns.

GTIN

Wofür steht GTIN?

GTIN ist die Abkürzung für Global Trade Item Number. Sie ist eine Identifikationsnummer zur weltweiten Identifizierung von Produkten und Dienstleistungen. Durch diese Nummer können Artikel eindeutig erkannt werden. Die GTIN dient der weltweiten, eindeutigen Zuordnung.

Die GTIN wird von der GS1 (Global Standards One) vergeben. Diese Organisation vergibt und verwaltet die Global Trade Item Number. In Deutschland ist die GS1 Germany für die Vergabe der Nummern zuständig.

Mit der Vergabe der eindeutigen Identifikationsnummer werden für Unternehmen weltweit einheitliche Standards geschaffen.

Aus EAN wurde GTIN

Die Global Trade Item Number (GTIN) ist die heutige Bezeichnung für die bis 2009 geltende European Article Number (EAN). Der Begriff GTIN ist inzwischen die weltweit vereinheitlichte Benennung dieser Identifikationsnummer.

Aufbau einer GTIN

Üblicherweise besitzt die GTIN 13 Ziffern. Dahinter verbergen sich die Länderbezeichnung (jedes Land besitzt eine eigene Zahlenkombination), die Betriebsnummer des jeweiligen Unternehmens, die Artikelnummer und am Ende eine Prüfziffer.

Für besonders kleine Produkte, auf die eine 13-stellige Global Trade Item Number nicht passt, kann eine sogenannte Kurznummer verwendet werden. Diese Nummer ist 8-stellig und dahinter verbirgt sich die Länderbezeichnung, die Artikelnummer sowie eine einstellige Prüfziffer am Ende der GTIN.

Des Weiteren gibt es noch die GTIN 14 und die GTIN 12.

Wie wird die GTIN maschinenlesbar?

Um eine Global Trade Item Number maschinenlesbar zu machen, kann man von der GS1 einen Barcode erstellen lassen. Die GTIN lässt sich aber auch durch einen Elektronischen Produkt-Code (EPC) darstellen.

Welche Vorteile ergeben sich durch die GTIN?

Die GTIN ist eine globale Standardisierung. Mit der Identifikationsnummer wird der Ablauf des weltweiten Warenverkehrs erleichtert. Die Produkte können überschneidungsfrei identifiziert werden. Mit Hilfe des Barcodes können Artikel schneller an Kassen registriert werden. Durch das scannen des Codes können Tippfehler vermieden werden.

Wie wichtig ist die Global Trade Item Number für den Onlinehandel?

Viele Marktplätze und Suchmaschinen wie zum Beispiel Amazon, eBay, Google usw. fordern eine eindeutige Kennzeichnung von Produkten und Dienstleistungen. In der Hilfeeinstellung bei Amazon heißt es, dass der EAN-Code für ein Produkt verlangt wird, „um die Qualität der Suchergebnisse und des Katalogs insgesamt zu verbessern“.

Bei Amazon ist jede Global Trade Item Number (ehemals EAN) einer eigenen ASIN zugewiesen. Möchte zum Beispiel ein Händler ein Produkt mit der gleichen GTIN verkaufen, welches bereits von einem anderen Verkäufer bei Amazon angeboten wird, erhält das Produkt dieselbe ASIN und wird an das Listing des Händlers angebunden.

Damit man als Amazon-Händler nicht an ein bereits bestehendes Listing angefügt wird, sollte man sich im Vorfeld überlegen, ob man ein Produkt verkaufen möchte, bei dem man nicht der Produzent ist. Bei der Produktion eines eigenen Artikels sollte man sich dann eine eigene GTIN erstellen lassen und erhält dann für sein Produkt bei Amazon eine eigene ASIN, die kein anderer Händler besitzt.

2017-11-23T08:42:36+00:00 17.11.2017|