Return on Advertising Spend

The Return on Advertising Spend (ROAS) is an important key figure for online marketing. The return on investment (ROI) forms the basis for this. The ROI considers the general turnover in relation to the costs. The ROAS is about comparing the costs of an advertising campaign with the profit achieved.

With the help of ROAS, the profitability of an advertising campaign can be determined.

Calculation of ROAS

The Return on Advertising Spend can be calculated as follows:

ROAS = (profit/advertising costs) * 100

With a profit of 100€ and advertising expenditure of 10€, the ROAS is 1.000%. The higher this number is, the more profitable the ads are. Depending on the desired target, a smaller value may also be sufficient. If the short-term profit is not in the foreground, it is advisable to use a different key figure to measure success. This could be, for example, market share, number of orders, impressions or clicks.

The calculation of the ROAS can help to answer the following questions:

  • Do my sponsored products ads convert?
  • How are my Amazon Marketing Services campaigns doing on Amazon?
  • What advertising campaigns should I budget or pause?

Using the ROAS on Amazon

Amazon specifies the key figure Advertising Cost of Sale (ACoS). This ratio relates advertising costs to sales. This ratio often serves as a measurement for the success of advertising campaigns. In many cases, the goal is to achieve a low percentage (< 10%) with ACoS. However, the ACoS does not provide any information about the actual profit.

The ACoS alone is not sufficient to determine the success of a campaign. Because only the turnover is to be set in relation to the expenses and a small percentage is to be achieved as possible, it can happen that the company misses many sales. A higher ACoS can lead to significantly more sales and can mean more profit on the bottom line.

For this reason it is recommended to include the ROAS during planning. The ROAS compares the actual profit to the advertising costs. Here a value can be defined, which can serve as a measure for the profitability of the advertising campaigns.

Basis for the ROAS on Amazon

To use the ROAS on Amazon it is important to make a profit calculation.

With the help of the calculated profit and the number of orders by advertisements on Amazon it can be calculated how much profit was achieved by the advertisements. This profit is then compared to the costs and the ROAS can be calculated.

ROAS

Return on Advertising Spend

Der Return on Advertising Spend (ROAS) stellt eine wichtige Kennzahl für das Online Marketing dar. Die Grundlage hierfür bildet der Return on Investment (ROI). Der ROI betrachtet den allgemeinen Umsatz im Verhältnis zu den Kosten. Bei dem ROAS geht es darum die Kosten für eine Werbekampagne mit dem erzielten Gewinn gegenüber zu stellen.

Mit Hilfe des ROAS kann die Profitabilität einer Werbekampagne bestimmt werden.

Berechnung des ROAS

Der Return on Advertising Spend lässt sich wie folgt berechnen:

ROAS = (Gewinn/Werbekosten) * 100

Bei einem Gewinn von 100€ und Werbeausgaben von 10€ beträgt der ROAS 1.000%. Je höher diese Zahl ist, desto besser profitabler sind die Anzeigen. Abhängig von dem angestrebtem Ziel kann auch ein kleinerer Wert ausreichend sein. Steht die Gewinnerzielung kurzfristig nicht im Vordergrund, empfiehlt es sich eine andere Kennzahl zur Erfolgsmessung heranzuziehen. Das könnten zum Beispiel Marktanteil, Anzahl der Bestellungen, Impressions oder Klicks sein.

Die Berechnung des ROAS kann dabei helfen folgende Fragen zu beantworten:

  • Konvertieren meine Sponsored Products Ads ?
  • Wie laufen meine Amazon Marketing Services Kampagnen auf Amazon?
  • Welche Werbekampagnen sollte ich mit mehr Budget ausstatten oder pausieren?

Verwendung des ROAS auf Amazon

Amazon gibt die Kennzahl Advertising Cost of Sale (ACoSan. Diese setzt die Werbekosten zum Umsatz ins Verhältnis. Diese Kennziffer dient oft als Maßstab für den Erfolg von Werbekampagnen. In vielen Fällen ist das Ziel einen geringen Prozentsatz (< 10%) beim ACoS zu erzielen. Der ACoS gibt jedoch keine Auskunft über den tatsächlichen Gewinn.

Der ACoS alleine reicht nicht aus, um den Erfolg einer Kampagne zu bestimmen. Dadurch das nur der Umsatz ins Verhältnis zu den Ausgaben gesetzt werden und ein möglichst geringer Prozentsatz erzielt werden soll kann es passieren, dass dem Unternehmen viele Verkäufe entgehen. Ein höherer ACoS kann zu deutlich mehr Verkäufe führen und unter dem Strich mehr Gewinn bedeuten.

Aus diesem Grund empfiehlt es sich den ROAS mit in die Planung einzubeziehen. Der ROAS setzt den tatsächlichen Gewinn zu den Werbekosten ins Verhältnis. Hierbei kann ein Wert definiert werden, der als Messgröße für die Profitabilität der Werbekampagnen dienen kann.

Grundlage für den ROAS auf Amazon

Zur Nutzung des ROAS auf Amazon ist es wichtig eine Gewinnkalkulation vorzunehmen.

ROAS für Sponsored Products

Mit Hilfe des errechneten Gewinns und der Anzahl der Bestellungen durch Werbung auf Amazon kann berechnet werden wie viel Gewinn durch die Anzeigen erzielt wurde. Anschließend wird dieser Gewinn zu den Kosten ins Verhältnis gestellt und der ROAS kann berechnet werden.

2017-12-19T16:50:16+00:00 19.12.2017|