Online Behavior Advertising (OBA) describes a process in which companies try to play out relevant content or ads by obtaining user data. This can happen, for example, through cookies on websites. This marketing method is based on cookie technology.

This type of advertising can also be called “Behavioral Targeting”.

Onlinemarketing-Praxis defines behavioral targeting as follows:

Behavioral targeting relies on the analysis of the surfing behavior of an Internet user. For this purpose, for example, the click paths of an anonymous user profile are analyzed.

If the user spends more time on websites that deal with the subject of “cars”, advertisements from car manufacturers can be displayed because of this past surfing behaviour. Behavioral targeting is based on cookie technology, which analyses the content of websites visited by users and their interaction with advertising banners. On the basis of this data, a specific advertisement is displayed to the user. In this case, the temporal component plays a decisive role: advertising that is displayed to the user after the purchase is no longer relevant for him.

With OBA, companies do not know any personal data such as name, address or telephone number. Using a randomly generated ID number, an attempt is made to estimate the demographic background on the basis of surfing behaviour.

Relevant Factors for Online Behavior Advertising

  • Age group (e.g. 18-25 years)
  • Gender (male or female)
  • Buying interests (e.g. car accessories or clothing)

This targeted approach to interest groups can lead to a considerable minimization of advertising wastage. By knowing customer needs, content and advertising can be adapted to them.

Behavior Advertising on Amazon

Advertisements on Amazon function predominantly only at the keyword level, i.e. when campaigns are created, Amazon keywords are stored on which advertising is to be placed when a search query is made, as is the case, for example, with Amazon Marketing Services. Amazon decides on the basis of some performance metrics whether the stored keyword is relevant and whether an ad will be broadcast. At the moment it is hardly possible to track the activities of users on Amazon with the help of cookies in order to obtain more information from potential customers.

Amazon is already making initial advances into reaching customers outside of Amazon with Amazon AAP.  Furthermore, a pilot project is currently underway in the USA for Amazon sellers who want to gain access to the Amazon Extended Ad Network and also target customers outside of Amazon with advertising.

Online Behavior Advertising

Online Behavior Advertising (OBA) beschreibt einen Prozess, bei dem Unternehmen versuchen durch die Gewinnung von Nutzerdaten relevanten Content oder Anzeigen auszuspielen. Dies kann zum Beispiel durch Cookies auf Websiten passieren. Diese Methode des Marketing beruht auf der Cookie-Technologie.

Diese Art der Werbeanzeigen kann auch „Behavioral Targeting“ genannt werden.

Onlinemarketing-Praxis definiert Behavioral Targeting wie folgt:

Behavioral Targeting setzt auf die Analyse des Surfverhaltens eines Internetnutzers. Hierfür werden zum Beispiel die Klickpfade eines anonymisierten Nutzerprofils analysiert.

Hält sich der Nutzer vermehrt auf Websites auf, die sich mit dem Thema „Auto” beschäftigen, können ihm aufgrund dieses in der Vergangenheit liegenden Surfverhaltens Werbeanzeigen von Automobilherstellern eingeblendet werden. Behavioral Targeting beruht auf der Cookie-Technologie, die den Inhalt der vom Nutzer besuchten Websites und seine Interaktion mit Werbebannern analysiert. Auf Basis dieser Daten wird dem Nutzer gezielt eine bestimmte Werbung angezeigt. Die zeitliche Komponente spielt in dem Fall eine entscheidende Rolle: Werbung, die dem Nutzer nach erfolgtem Kauf angezeigt wird, ist für ihn nicht mehr relevant.

Beim OBA kennen die Unternehmen keine persönlichen Daten wie den Namen, die Adresse oder die Telefonnummer. Mittels einer zufälligen generierten ID-Nummer wird versucht auf Grundlage des Surfverhaltens Schätzungen über die demographischen Hintergründe vorzunehmen.

Relevante Faktoren für Online Behavior Advertising

  • Altersgruppe (z.B. 18-25 Jahre)
  • Geschlecht (männlich oder weiblich)
  • Kaufinteressen (z.B. Autozubehör oder Kleidung)

Diese gezielte Ansprache von Interessengruppen kann zu einer erheblichen Minimierung der Streuverluste von Werbung führen. Durch die Kenntnis der Kundenbedürfnisse können Inhalte und Werbung an diese angepasst werden.

Behavior Advertising auf Amazon

Werbeanzeigen auf Amazon funktionieren überwiegend nur auf Keywordebene, d.h. bei der Erstellung von Kampagnen werden Amazon Keywords hinterlegt, auf die bei einer Suchanfrage Werbung geschaltet werden soll, wie das bspw. bei den Amazon Marketing Services der Fall ist. Amazon entscheidet auf Grundlage einiger Performance-Metriken, ob das hinterlegte Keyword relevant ist und eine Anzeige ausgestrahlt wird. Es ist momentan kaum möglich mit Hilfe von Cookies die Aktivitäten von Nutzern auf Amazon zu tracken, um so an mehr Informationen von potenziellen Kunden zu gelangen.

Erste Vorstöße von Amazon, um den Kunden auch außerhalb von Amazon zu erreichen gibt es bereits mit Amazon AAP.  Des Weiteren läuft gerade ein Pilotprojekt für Amazon Seller in den USA die Zugriff auf das Amazon Extended Ad Network bekommen und Kunden auch außerhalb von Amazon mit Werbung targeten können.

 

2018-07-02T11:21:54+00:00 21.12.2017|