What is Giropay?

Giropay is a payment method that can be used to make purchases in online shops. Giropay can also be used to pay invoices online. You can also identify yourself online using the Giropay ID.

There are different advantages for customers and merchants with this payment method. Customers do not have to leave their data in the online shop, as payment is made directly through the bank where they are a customer. Sellers receive a payment guarantee from the buyer’s bank immediately after completion of the purchase.

What are the requirements for Giropay?

To enable customers in online shops to pay with Giropay, the shop operator must offer this payment method and the customer must have a current account approved for online banking. Of course, the buyer’s bank must also participate in the payment procedure. Additional registration in the online shop is thus no longer necessary.

Traders who wish to use Giropay must register for the payment method. Online shop operators can do this directly on the Giropay website. There are fees for using Giropay, which can be viewed on the Giropay website. A technical connection is required for integration in the shop itself, which can be solved with most shop systems by installing a Giropay plug-in. Here are some examples of Giropay plugins:

  • Giropay Plugin for OXID
  • Giropay Plugin for WooCommerce
  • Giropay Plugin for Shopware
  • Giropay Plugin for Gambio
  • Giropay Plugin for Magento

 

How does online shopping with Giropay work?

The customer clicks on the Giropay payment method in the online shop. There he chooses his bank and is immediately forwarded to the online banking website of his bank. Then he logs in as usual with his access data. The transfer is then already completed. Only the TAN (transaction number) must be entered to complete the purchase process. For smaller amounts of less than 30 Euros, some credit institutions already do without a TAN entry.

What are the advantages of Giropay for customers and sellers?

A particularly important advantage of Giropay for customers is that they do not have to pass on their bank data to third parties (e.g. the online shop operator). The latter only learns which bank is carrying out the transaction. Further advantages are among other things:

  • there are usually no costs for using the software for the end customer (buyer)
  • the bank transfer is already filled in, this saves time and number errors etc. can be avoided
  • for amounts under 30 Euro, some banks do not require the entry of PIN or TAN, so online purchases can be processed even faster

Giropay advantages for online merchants

  • the online merchant receives an immediate payment guarantee which is not revocable by the customer
  • a fast dispatch can be transacted thus risk-free
  • for the seller there is no risk of non-payment, which is more likely to occur with some other payment methods

Giropay

Was ist Giropay?

Giropay ist eine Zahlungsmethode, mit der Einkäufe in Onlineshops getätigt werden können. Außerdem können mit Giropay auch Rechnungen online beglichen werden. Zudem kann man sich, mit Hilfe der Giropay-ID, online ausweisen.

Für Käufer und Händler ergeben sich mit dieser Zahlungsart unterschiedliche Vorteile. Kunden müssen ihre Daten nicht im Onlineshop hinterlassen, da die Bezahlung direkt über die Bank, bei der er Kunde ist, abgeschlossen wird. Verkäufer erhalten unmittelbar nach Abschluss des Kaufs eine Zahlungsgarantie vom Kreditinstitut des Käufers.

Welche Voraussetzungen müssen für Giropay gegeben sein?

Damit Kunden in Onlineshops mit Giropay bezahlen können, muss zum einen der Shop-Betreiber diese Bezahlmethode anbieten, zum anderen muss der Kunde ein für Online-Banking freigegebenes Girokonto besitzen. Natürlich muss auch das Kreditinstitut des Käufers an dem Bezahlverfahren teilnehmen. Eine zusätzliche Registrierung im Onlineshop ist so nicht mehr nötig.

Händler, die von Giropay Gebrauch nehmen wollen, müssen sich für die Zahlungsmethode registrieren lassen. Dies können Onlineshop-Betreiber direkt auf der Giropay Website vornehmen. Für die Nutzung von Giropay fallen Gebühren an, welche auf der Giropay-Website eingesehen werden. Für die Integration im Shop selbst wird eine technische Anbindung benötigt, die bei den meisten Shop-Systemen mittels Installation eines Giropay-Plugins gelöst werden kann. Hier einige Beispiele für Giropay-Plugins:

Wie läuft ein Online-Einkauf mit Giropay ab?

Der Kunde klickt im Onlineshop auf die Bezahlmethode Giropay. Dort wählt er sein Kreditinstitut und wird sofort zur Online-Banking-Webseite seiner Bank weitergeleitet. Dann meldet er sich wie gewohnt mit seinen Zugangsdaten an. Die Überweisung liegt dann schon ausgefüllt vor. Lediglich die TAN (Transaktionsnummer) muss eingegeben werden um den Kaufvorgang abzuschließen. Bei kleineren Beträgen unter 30 Euro verzichten einige Kreditinstitute bereits auf eine TAN-Eingabe.

Welche Vorteile ergeben sich durch Giropay für Kunden und Verkäufer?

Ein besonders wichtiger Vorteil von Giropay für Kunden ist der, dass sie ihre Bank-Daten nicht an Dritte (z.B. den Onlineshop-Betreiber) weitergeben müssen. Dieser erfährt nur, durch welche Bank die Transaktion durchgeführt wird. Weiter Vorteile sind unter anderem:

  • für die Nutzung fallen in der Regel keine Kosten beim Endkunden (Käufer) an
  • die Überweisung ist bereits ausgefüllt, das spart Zeit und Zahlenfehler o.ä. können so vermieden werden
  • bei Beträgen unter 30 Euro entfällt bei einigen Banken die Eingabe von PIN oder TAN, so können Online-Einkäufe noch schneller abgewickelt werden

Giropay Vorteile für Onlinehändler

  • der Online-Händler erhält eine sofortige, nicht vom Kunden zu widerrufene Zahlungsgarantie
  • ein schneller Versand kann somit risikofrei getätigt werden
  • für den Verkäufer entfällt das Risiko des Zahlungsausfalls, welches bei einigen anderen Zahlungsmethoden eher gegeben ist

 

2017-12-04T15:30:15+01:00 04.12.2017|