EAN-Code

The abbreviation EAN-Code stands for “European Article Number Code” and replaced the Global Trade Item Nuber (GTIN) in 2009. The EAN represents an internationally unmistakable product identification for commercial articles. The number consists of 8 or 13 digits. The first 2 or 3 or 7, 8 or 9 digits are administered by the GS1 Group and assigned to manufacturers on request as “Global Location Number”.

The EAN/GTIN is usually printed on the product packaging in the form of a machine-readable barcode and can be decoded by barcode scanners. The GS1 prefix does not serve as a country code, the prefix is only assigned to the local GS1 organizations. Buyers of Ean codes always receive a company ID consisting of the GS1 prefix and the company number behind it.

Purchasing EAN for Amazon

A new product on Amazon can only be created with a valid EAN number. There are many providers who sell individual EAN codes and advertise that the codes can also be used for Amazon. This seems especially lucrative for smaller retailers and Amazon FBA beginners, because the costs for the EAN packages at GS1-Germany are significantly higher than those of individual EANs.

The only valid EAN codes are assigned exclusively by GS1. EAN’s on other websites have already been registered with GS1 by other companies. This can be checked via the GS1 GEPIR service. The use of already acquired EAN codes can lead to problems with the use and to the subsequent deletion of the Amazon Listings. The use of already registered EAN codes does not allow an overlap-free identification of the articles and there may be an overlap in the use of the codes.

When purchasing EAN codes it is not relevant at which GS1 place they are purchased. It is possible as a German Amazon trader to purchase valid EANs in the Netherlands at better conditions than at GS1 Germany. Here the GS1 prefix serves only as company identification and not, as often wrongly assumed, as country identification.

Die Abkürzung EAN-Code steht für „European Articel Number Code“ und hat 2009 die Globale Artikelidentifikationsnummer (Global Trade Item Nuber – kurz GTIN) abgelöst. Die EAN stellt eine international unverwechselbare Poduktkennzeichnung für Handelsartikel dar. Die Nummer besteht aus 8 bzw. 13 Ziffern.Die ersten 2 oder 3 bzw. 7, 8 oder 9 Ziffern werden durch die GS1-Gruppe verwaltet und an Herstellter auf Antrag als „Global Location Number“ vergeben.

Die EAN/GTIN wird in der Regel auf die Warenpackung, in Form eines maschinenlesbaren Strichcodes, aufgedruckt und kann von Barcodescannern decodiert werden. Der GS1-Prafix dient hierbei nicht als Ländercode, der Präfix wird lediglich den lokalen GS1-Organisationen zugeordnet. Käufer von Ean-Codes erhalten immer eine Firmenkennung, die aus dem GS1-Präfix und der dahinter gestellten Firmennummer besteht.

EAN kaufen für Amazon

Ein neues Produkt auf Amazon kann nur mit einer gültigen EAN Nummer erstellt werden. Es gibt viele Anbieter die einzelne EAN-Codes verkaufen und damit werben, dass die Codes auch für Amazon genutzt werden können. Dies erscheint vor allem für kleinere Händler und Amazon FBA Anfänger lukrativ, weil die Kosten für die EAN-Pakete bei der GS1-Germany deutlich über denen einzelner EANs liegen.

Preise für EANs bei der GS1 Germany

Die einzig gültigen EAN-Codes werden ausschließlich von der GS1 vergeben. EAN’s auf anderen Internetseiten wurden bereits bei der GS1 von anderen Firmen registriert. Dies kann über den GEPIR-Service der GS1 gepürft werden. Die Verwendung von bereits erworbenen EAN-Codes kann zu Problemen bei der Verwendung und zur nachträglichen Löschung des Amazon Listings führen. Durch die Verwendung von bereits registrierten EAN-Codes ist keine überschneidungsfreie Identifikation der Artikel möglich und es kann zu Überschneidung bei der Benutzung der Codes kommen.

Beim erwerben von EAN-Codes ist nicht relevant bei welcher GS1 Stelle diese erworben werden. Es ist möglich als deutscher Amazon Händler gültige EANs in den Niederlanden  zu besseren Konditionen, als bei der GS1 Germany zu erwerben. Hierbei dient der GS1-Präfix lediglich als Firmenkennung und nicht, wie oft fälschlich angenommen, als Länderkennung.