Robot Technology – Amazon Robotics 

Amazon Robotics was founded in 2003 with the idea that E-commerce requires better order processing for the customer. The headquarters are in Boston, the epicentre of robot innovation. Amazon Robotics is a wholly owned subsidiary of Amazon.com. 

Amazon Robotics automates fulfilment centre operations using various methods of robotics technology. On Youtube you can find documentaries as short videos, which also show the application of robot technology in Germany. With the location Winsen an der Luhe, the most modern logistics center was built in 2017. 

This technology of Amazon Robotics includes the following possibilities: 

  • Autonomous mobile robots 
  • Advanced control software 
  • Speech recognition 
  • Energy management 
  • Computer Vision 
  • Depth detection 
  • Machine Learning 
  • Object recognition 
  • Understanding commands 

How does the transport robot technology work – Amazon Robotics? 

Usually, goods are operated either by a conveyor system or by man-operated machines. Frequently, machines such as forklifts are used to move the goods in the logistics center. The approach behind this is as follows: the goods are stored in a mobile database and when the order is received, the software calls the nearest automatically steered vehicle (Bot). 

The mobile robots themselves navigate through the warehouse using computer-assisted barcode stickers on the floor. In order not to collide, each bot has a sensor on the drive unit. Once the destination has been reached, a gondola moves upwards by means of a corkscrew-like movement and transports the person to the desired object. 

Currently there are two different Amazon Robotic models. The smaller model can lift pallets weighing 500kg and the larger model can lift 1500kg. Both devices currently have orange as the signal colour. The speed is just over 1 meter per second. The battery-operated robots have to be recharged every hour for five minutes. 

Automated logistics processes are becoming increasingly important in e-commerce fulfilment processes. This involves the replenishment of stocks and the distribution of goods. The complete process with Amazon Robotics is much more efficient and precise than the traditional process, where a human worker drives to the right shelf, finds the item and pulls it out. 

In September 2017, Amazon had more than 100,000 robots in use. 

Amazon buys the Kiva robot systemsisolation of the technology 

In March 2012, Amazon purchased Kiva Systems for $775 million. This was the second largest investment in the company’s history at the time. Since the acquisition, Kiva Systems has remained very quiet. All marketing activities were stopped and most of the sales staff were dismissed. Although the company is still active in manufacturing processes. 

Industry experts speculate that Amazon is not interested in sharing this efficient and powerful technology with the competition. In August 2015, the company was officially renamed from Kiva Systems to Amazon Robotics.

Amazon Robotics

Die Roboter Technik – Amazon Robotics

Amazon Robotics wurde im Jahr 2003 als Gedanke gegründet, dass im E-Commerce eine bessere Auftragsabwicklung für den Kunden nötig ist. Der Hauptsitz befindet sich in Boston und somit im Epizentrum der Roboterinnovationen. Dabei ist Amazon Robotics eine vollständige Tochtergesellschaft von Amazon.com.

Amazon Robotics automatisiert Fulfillment-Center-Operationen mit verschiedenen Methoden der Robotik Technologie. Auf Youtube sind Reportagen als Kurzvideo zu finden, die auch den Einsatz der Roboter Technik in Deutschland zeigen. Mit dem Standort Winsen an der Luhe, ist 2017 das modernste Logistikzentrum entstanden.

Diese Technik von Amazon Robotics beinhalten folgende Möglichkeiten:

  • Autonom mobile Roboter
  • Hoch entwickelte Steuerungssoftware
  • Spracherkennung
  • Energiemanagement
  • Computer Vision
  • Tiefenerkennung
  • Maschinelles Lernen
  • Objekterkennung
  • Verständnis von Befehlen

Wie funktioniert die Transportroboter Technik – Amazon Robotics?

Üblicherweise werden Güter entweder mit einem Fördersystem oder von Menschen betriebenen Maschinen betrieben. Häufig werden dafür Maschinen wie z.B. Gabelstapler zur Bewegung der Güter im Logistikzentrum eingesetzt. Der Ansatz dahinter sieht so aus, dass die Güter in einer mobilen Datenbank gespeichert sind und bei Bestelleingang die Software ein nächstgelegenes automatisch gelenktes Fahrzeug (Bot) ansteuert.

amazon-robotics-roboterDie mobilen Roboter navigieren selbst durch das Lager mithilfe von computergestützten Barcode-Aufklebern, die sich auf dem Boden befinden. Um nicht zu kollidieren, besitzt jeder Bot einen Sensor an der Antriebseinheit. Ist der Zielort erreicht, fährt eine Gondel anhand einer Korkenzieherbewegung nach oben und transportiert den Menschen zum gewünschten Gegenstand.

Aktuell gibt es zwei verschiedene Amazon-Robotic-Modelle. Das kleinere Modell kann Paletten mit einem Gewicht von 500kg anheben und das größere Modell schafft sogar 1500kg. Beide Geräte besitzen aktuell die Signalfarbe Orange. Die Geschwindigkeit beträgt etwas über 1 Meter pro Sekunde. Die batteriebetriebenen Roboter müssen stündlich für fünf Minuten aufgeladen werden.

Die automatisierten Logistikabläufe gewinnen zunehmende an Bedeutung im E-Commerce-Fulfillment- Ablauf. Dabei geht es um die Wiederauffüllung von Lagerbeständen und der Verteilung von Gütern. Der komplette Ablauf mit dem Amazon Robotics ist viel effizienter und präziser wir der herkömmliche Prozess, indem ein menschlicher Arbeiter zum richtigen Regal fährt, den Gegenstand sucht und herausholt.

Im September 2017 hatte Amazon mehr als 100.000 Roboter im Einsatz.

Amazon kauft die Kiva Roboter Systeme – Isolierung der Technologie

Im März 2012 hat Amazon die Firma Kiva Systems für 775 Millionen US-Dollar gekauft. Dies war zu diesem Zeitpunkt die zweitgrößte Investition in der Firmengeschichte. Seit der Übernahme ist es um die Firma Kiva Systems sehr ruhig geblieben. Alle Marketingaktivitäten wurden eingestellt und die meisten Vertriebsmitarbeiter wurden entlassen. Obwohl das Unternehmen weiterhin für Fertigungsprozesse tätig ist.

Experten in der Branche spekulieren, dass Amazon nicht daran interessiert ist, diese effiziente und leistungsstarke Technologie mit der Konkurrenz zu teilen. Im August 2015 wurde das Unternehmen offiziell von Kiva Systems in Amazon Robotics umbenannt.

2018-10-22T14:11:05+00:00 22.10.2018|