What is the Amazon Media Group

The abbreviation AMG stands for “Amazon Media Group“, a special department within the Amazon Group that is responsible for the placement and development of advertising campaigns for vendors and major brands. In the AMG, all display advertising spaces on and outside Amazon are controlled, campaigns are planned and executed. Depending on the assignment of the customers, the Amazon Media Group takes over the entire outsourcing of all campaigns for a fixed advertising budget (approx. 50,000.00 EUR minimum amount per year).

Unlike the performance-driven Amazon Marketing Services, AMG is not primarily concerned with ROI (Return of Invest), but rather with a large reach on the partner side and increasing brand awareness, e.g. by playing display ads on its own shopping website.

If a vendor decides to distribute the budget in the direction of the AMG, he must not expect the same KPIs and certainly not the same goals that he sets for click-based measures. While the AMS are based on directly controllable click bids and can therefore be played out with great precision and cent-exactness, the Amazon Media Group is only provided with an annual budget, which is then used for the Amazon Advertising Platform and is difficult to measure directly.

AMG customer-specific and relevant advertising – advantages and disadvantages

Due to the sheer amount of user data and their purchasing behavior, Amazon has a data power in its hands like hardly any other company in e-commerce. The findings from the Customer Journey flow into the outsourcing of the campaigns, which are played out programmatically and for the most part automatically (programmatic advertising) via the AMG.

The advantage of advertising with Amazon Media Group is clearly the variety of data used for the advertising campaigns. Furthermore, a vendor does not have to invest much of his own resources (including personnel) to promote specific products, his own brand shop or external websites. Only the provision of an annual budget is required here.

The disadvantage is also due to the advantage that there is little or no control over how Amazon invests the budget provided and how brand awareness is increased as a result. The AMG is probably not the right choice for purely revenue-driven retailers, especially as a one-off advertising budget can no longer be easily changed or shifted to other advertising media (e.g. AMS). In addition, the type of playout according to the CPM model (cost per million) is hardly measurable and can hardly be divided into success or failure.

Conclusion: Amazon Media Group may or may not work

For large brands with a high advertising budget, AMG can be worth a try if you do not want or need to specifically promote the sale of certain products. With a correspondingly high budget (depending on the planned measures, the product area and the competitive situation), advertising campaigns via the Amazon Media Group can be strategically valuable in the medium to long term. However, it is advisable here to precisely define the corporate objectives and to weigh (or healthy distribution) the available budget in AMG and AMS.

Amazon Media Group

Was ist die Amazon Media Group

amazon-media-group-logoDas Kürzel AMG steht für „Amazon Media Group“, einer spezielle Abteilung im Amazon-Konzern, welche sich um die Platzierung und den Aufbau von Werbekampagnen für Vendoren und große Marken kümmert. In der AMG werden sämtliche Display-Werbeplätze auf und außerhalb von Amazon gesteuert, Kampagnen geplant und ausgeführt. Je nach Beauftragung der Kunden übernimmt die Amazon Media Group die gesamte Aussteuerung sämtlicher Kampagnen für ein festgelegtes Werbebudget (ca. 50.000,00 EUR Mindestbetrag pro Jahr).

Anders als die Performance-getriebenen Amazon Marketing Services geht es bei der AMG nicht vordergründig um den ROI (Return of Invest), sondern vielmehr um eine große Reichweite auf Partnerseite und Steigerung der Brandawareness u.a. durch die Ausspielung von Display-Ads auf der eigenen Shopping-Website.

Entscheidet sich ein Vendor für eine Verteilung des Budgets Richtung AMG, so darf er hier nicht mit den gleichen KPIs und schon gar nicht gleichen Zielen rechnen, welche er bei den klickbasierten Maßnahmen ansetzt. Während die AMS auf direkt steuerbaren Klickgeboten basieren und damit größtenteils punktgenau und centgenau ausspielbar sind, so stellt man der Amazon Media Group lediglich ein jährliches Budget zur Verfügung, das dann für die Amazon Advertising Plattform verwendet wird und schwer direkt messbar ist.

AMG kundenspezifische und relevante Werbung – Vorteile und Nachteile

Auf Grund der schieren Menge an Nutzerdaten und deren Kaufverhalten hat Amazon eine Datenmacht in der Hand, wie kaum ein anderes Unternehmen im E-Commerce. Die Erkenntnisse aus der Customer Journey fließen in die Aussteuerung der Kampagnen mit ein, welche über die AMG programmatisch und zum größten Teil automatisiert (programmatic Advertising) ausgespielt werden.

Der Vorteil bei Werbung mit der Amazon Media Group ist klar die Vielfalt an Daten, welche für die Werbekampagnen genutzt werden. Des Weiteren muss ein Vendor wenig Eigenleistung (auch personeller Natur) investieren, um spezifische Produkte, den eigenen Markenshop oder externe Websites zu bewerben. Lediglich die Bereitstellung eines Jahresbudgets ist hier erforderlich.

Der Nachteil begründet sich auch aus dem Vorteil: kaum bis keine Kontrolle, wie Amazon das bereitgestellte Budget investiert und wie damit genau die Brandawareness gesteigert wird. Für rein umsatzgetriebene Händler ist die AMG wahrscheinlich nicht die richtige Wahl, zumal ein einmalig festgelegtes Werbebudget sich nicht mehr so einfach ändern oder in andere Werbemittel (wie z.B. AMS) shiften lässt. Zudem ist die Ausspielungsart nach CPM-Modell (Cost per Million) kaum messbar und lässt sich nur sehr schwer in Erfolg oder Misserfolg einteilen.

Fazit: Amazon Media Group kann, muss aber nicht funktionieren

Für großen Marken mit einem hohen Budget für Werbemaßnahmen kann AMG durchaus ein Versuch wert sein, wenn man damit nicht gezielt den Verkauf bestimmter Produkte fördern will oder muss. Mit einem entsprechend hohen Budget (abhängig von den geplanten Maßnahmen, dem Produktbereich und der Konkurrenzsituation) können Werbekampagnen über die Amazon Media Group mittel- bis langfristig strategisch wertvoll sein. Empfehlenswert ist hier jedoch die genaue Definition der Unternehmensziele und die Abwägung (bzw. gesunde Verteilung) des bereitstehenden Budgets in AMG und AMS.

2017-11-24T12:40:03+00:00 24.11.2017|