What is A/B testing?

A/B testing is, as the name itself already suggests, the testing of two different versions of a website or a landing page. With this kind of testing, the performance of the relative pages is analyzed in relation to product sales, login etc. Once the two versions have been created, the traffic (generated by website users) is randomly spread during a specific period over these pages. With this random spread of traffic, you can analyze which page reached a higher conversion rate. The version with the higher conversion rate will be permanently implemented in the website and possibly retested later in connection to a different variable.

In connection to A/B tests are mostly tested: wording, length, color, placement… of the “call to action”, so the central call for actions of the website (for example login button).

  • Wording, length, color and placement of the call to action button
  • Design and Layout
  • Length, number and kind of fields to be filled in
  • Headline or product description
  • Price or sale Discount
  • Pictures, graphic or videos
  • Text content

Every change of design, structure thus color, dimension of buttons or position of elements may influence the conversion and therefore the performance of a landing page. In an A/B testing is particularly important avoid to put subjective tastes in the foreground; much more important are instead the A/B tests key data.

How does A/B testing work on Amazon?

In relation to Amazon, a classic or complete A/B testing cannot be executed. However, A/B testing can be carried out in a different way. This test is useful to value and if necessary to change a page performance and its design and structure. Every Amazon seller can sell his products with the aim to sell as much as possible.

Here some possibilities to increase a product conversion:

  • Pictures and graphics
  • Title
  • Bullet points
  • Price
  • Strike Prices

The selection of picture quality is crucial for the customer. People pay specific attention to visual content. The clearer the picture quality is, the easier it is for a customer to picture the product in real life and buys it. The majority of the consumers on Amazon already have a purchase intention which only needs to be reaffirmed.

A B Testing

Was ist A/B-Testing?

Unter A/B Testing versteht man das testen zwei verschiedener Versionen einer Webseite oder Landing Page. Bei so einem Test wird die Performance der jeweiligen Seiten im Bezug auf Produktverkäufe, Anmeldung etc getestet. Sind die verschiedenen Versionen einmal erstellt, wird der Traffic (Besucher der Webseite) über einen bestimmten Zeitraum per Zufall auf diese Seiten verteilt. Mit dem zufälligen verteilen von Traffic, kann man analysieren welche Seite eine höhere Converion Rate erzielt. Die Version mit der höheren Conversion Rate wird dauerhaft in der Webseite implementiert und zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt eventuell erneut gegen eine weitere Variante getestet.

Im Rahmen eines A/B-Tests wird am häufigsten getestet: Wording, Länge, Farbe, Platzierung… des “call to action”, also der zentralen Handlungsaufforderung der Webseite (z.B. “Anmelde-Button”)

  • Wording, Länge, Farbe und Platzierung vom Call to Action Button
  • Design und Layout
  • Länge, Anzahl und Art von auszufüllenden Feldern
  • Überschrift oder Produktbeschreibung
  • Preise oder Rabatte
  • Bilder, Grafiken oder Videos
  • Textinhalt.

Die kleinsten Änderungen vom Design und Aufbau also Farbe, die Größe eines Buttons oder die Position von einzelnen Elementen, können die Conversion und somit die Performance einer Landing Page beeinflussen. Es ist besonders wichtig bei einem A/B Test seinen subjektiven Geschmack nicht in den Vordergrund zu stellen, viel wichtiger sind die Kennzahlen eines A/B Tests.

A/B Testing bei Amazon?

Im Bezug auf Amazon kann kein klassisches bzw. vollständiges A/B Testing durchgeführt werden. Jedoch kann A/B Testing in einer anderen Form vollzogen werden. Der Sinn von A/B Testing ist es die Performance einer Seite, also deren Aufbau und Design, zu bewerten und gegebenenfalls zu ändern. Jeder Händler der bei Amazon seine Produkte verkauft, verfolgt das Ziel so viele Produkte wie möglich zu verkaufen.

Möglichkeiten um die Conversion eines Produkts zu verbessern sind folgende:

  • Bilder und Grafiken
  • Titel
  • Bulletpoints
  • Preis
  • Streichpreise

a-b-splittest amazon

Die Auswahl sowie Bildqualität sind für den Kunden entscheidend. Menschen interagieren gerne mit Visuellem Content. Je besser die Qualität die Bilder desto eher kann es sein, dass der Kunde sich das Produkt im echtem Leben vorstellen kann und es kauft. Die meisten Besucher bei Amazon haben bereits eine Kaufintention und die gilt es nur noch zu bestätigen.

 

2017-11-17T15:17:17+00:00 10.11.2017|